Notary Commission

To become a Notary Public or renew your commission, you must first apply through the Secretary of State's office. You may contact them at the Secretary of State website or by phone at 651-296-2803 or 877-551-6767 (9 a.m. to 4 p.m.)

Once you receive your notary commission, you are required to register your commission with our office either in person or by mail. You must be a resident of Itasca County.

Register in Person

To record in person, we are located at:
Itasca County Recorder's Office
123 NE 4th Street
Grand Rapids, MN 55744

Office hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, except holidays. You will need to bring your notary commission and your driver's license or Identification card, and there is a filing fee of $20 payable by check, money order, cash or Credit/Debit Cards (service fees also apply to credit/debit cards). Checks are made payable to the Itasca County Recorder.

Register by Mail

To record by mail, please include your:
  1. Notary commission;
  2.  Your Notary Commission must be signed exactly as it states on the Certificate. 
  3. Your signature must be notarized by someone other than yourself,
  4. A filing fee of $20 payable to the Itasca County Recorder by check or money order. Send to:
    Itasca County Recorder
    123 NE 4th Street
    Grand Rapids, MN 55744
We will record your notary commission and return it to you with a receipt.